Database Usage
Use of library subscription databases has fluctuated during the pandemic, with a record number of 4,396 downloads last quarter. This quarter that number dropped closer to normal with 3,494 downloads. During the unfolding COVID 19 pandemic we have seen wild fluctuations in all areas of library use, including full-text downloads. Our 5-year average is around 3,372 downloads a quarter. This quarter we observed high levels of usage by ASTM Compass, Knovel, Skillsoft and TRR, all of which tend to be leading resources.
The Library continues expanding access to resources through "self-service" online databases. We provide 20 subscription databases to VDOT employees at this time. Because we serve both engineering and business needs, we tend to see steady usage month to month. Tables here show the number of downloads per month (below) from each database, and the trend over the past year (right). This quarter usage was marginally above average for the past 5 years.
| Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY23 Q4 | ||||
| April | May | June | Total | |
| ASTM Compass | 442 | 710 | 672 | 1,824 |
| Knovel | 118 | 214 | 141 | 473 |
| Skillsoft | 75 | 83 | 162 | 320 |
| TRR (Sage) | 78 | 110 | 96 | 284 |
| ASCE Library | 125 | 75 | 83 | 283 |
| Non-Subscription Downloads (EOS Catalog) | 35 | 69 | 28 | 132 |
| EBSCO eBooks | 51 | 39 | 15 | 105 |
| * Miscellaneous Journals | 7 | 22 | 0 | 29 |
| ScienceDirect | 4 | 8 | 15 | 27 |
| EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus | 8 | 2 | 5 | 15 |
| EBSCO Business Book Summaries | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Monthly Totals | 945 | 1,332 | 1,217 | 3,494 |
* Miscellaneous Journals: Includes journals from the ICE Virtual Library collection, Taylor & Francis, ACI and Corrosion.
530 Edgemont Road,
Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2024, VDOT. All rights reserved.
Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard
