Skip to main content
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is closed, but staff are available ONLINE during business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees.

Library Quarterly Report FY19 Q1: July-Sept 2018


Database Usage

Use of library subscription databases showed healthy increases again this quarter, continuing an upward trend that has seen successive gains for the past three quarters. During that run, combined database use climbed from 3,157 to 3,316 downloads a year to date increase of 6%.  ASTM Compass, Knovel, and Books24x7 (whose interface was recently improved) remain the library's most used databases, but this quarter we saw a steep rise in the number of "clickthroughs" in the library's online catalog to publicly accessible documents. That would not be possible without ongoing professional catalog maintenance by Gil Kenner in the Technical Services department.

 

Subscription Downloads
The Library continues to expand access to resources through "self-service" online subscription databases. We provide 13 subscription databases to VDOT employees (12 of which are "full text" resources). Because we serve the all of VDOT, we have seen a steady increase in usage. Tables here show downloads per month (below) by database, and the trend over the past 12 months (right), which has held steady at just over 1,000 downloads a month.

Subscription database usage FY19 Q1: October 2017-September 2018
 
 
 
Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY19 Q1
  July  August  September  Total 
ASTM Compass  433  368  321  1,122 
Non-Subscription Downloads (Library Catalog)  166  192  189  547 
  Books 24x7  173  223  110  506 
 Knovel  157  155  167  479 
 ASCE  88  129  163  380 
TRR  24  68  30  122 
EBSCO eBooks  18  20  21  59 
*Other (miscellaneous journals  12  12  17  41 
ScienceDirect  18  24 
EBSCO Business Book Summaries  13  24 
EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus  12 
Monthly Totals  1,099  1,172  1,045  3,316 

Note: Miscellaneous resources includes International Journal of Pavement Engineering, Corrosion and Road Materials and Pavement Design.

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2021, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard