Skip to main content
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is closed, but staff are available ONLINE during business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees.

Library Quarterly Report FY18 Q4: April-June 2018


Database Usage

Use of library subscription databases showed healthy increases this quarter with significant upticks in patron use of ASTM Compass, Knovel, and ASCE Library. Future plans for promotion (and user education) of library resources will focus on LibGuides and we plan to migrate existing “Quick Start Guides” for resources like Knovel, ASTM Compass, and Skillsoft Books from static PDF handouts to more interactive formats in LibGuides, now that the new Library Web site is coming to life and new LibGuides templates are being created.

 

 

 

 

The VDOT Research Library continues to expand access to key resources through desktop access to subscription databases. VDOT employees have access to 13 database subscriptions (11 are "full text") and because we serve the entire VDOT community, the these resources see steady usage. The tables here show the number of downloads per month (below) for each database, and the trend over the past year (right), around the 1,000 downloads/month. 

   

info here.

 

 

Subscription Downloads By VDOT
April  May  June  Total 
ASTM Compass  290  286  380  956 
Non-Subscription Downloads (EOS Clickthroughs)  173  168  180  521 
ASCE  165  129  87  381 
Knovel  111  171  97  379 
Books24x7  123  96  109  328 
TRR  36  45  50  131 
Other (miscellaneous journals)   10  20 
EBSCO eBooks  12  20 
 EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus  15  18 
 ScienceDirect  17 
EBSCO Business Book Summaries 
Monthly Totals  912  922  944  2,778 

 

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2021, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard