Library Quarterly Report FY23 Q1: July-Sept 2022

Database Usage
Adapting to COVID-19

Subscription database use as measured by full-text downloads continued to climb this quarter, reaching 3,726. Last quarter's stat was 3,163 and the quarter before was 2,820, with a record low of 1,915 in FY22Q2. The 5-year average has been around 3,200/year. Leading all resources (as is typically the case) was ASTM Compass, followed by Transportation Research Record, Knovel and ASCE Library. While TRR downloads were higher that we've seen in a decade we do not know what to attribute that to. The 5-year average for TRR is about 250 downloads a quarter.

The VDOT Research Library continues to expand access to key resources through desktop access to subscriptions. VDOT employees have access to 19 database subscriptions (18 of those are "full text") and because we serve the entire VDOT community, these resources see steady usage. The table below shows the number of downloads per month this quarter (averaging 1,242/month), which trending up from the past two years.

Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY23 Q1
	July	August	September	Total
ASTM Compass	313	414	1,013	1,740
Transporation Research Record	249	193	121	563
Knovel	222	160	180	562
ASCE Library	91	236	71	398
Skillsoft Books	104	85	79	268
Non-Subscription Downloads (Library Catalog)	31	37	23	91
ScienceDirect	16	12	6	34
* EBSCO eBooks	9	8	14	31
** Miscellaneous journals	8	9	4	21
EBSCO Business Book Summaries	0	5	5	10
EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus	0	4	4	8
Monthly Totals	1,043	1,163	1,520	3,726

* The EBSCO eBooks category combines three EBSCO eBook collections: Harvard Business Review Press, BussinessCore and EngineeringCore.
** The Miscellaneous journals category includes journals from the ICE Virtual Library collection, Taylor & Francis, ACI and Corrosion.

Library Quarterly Report FY23 Q1: July-Sept 2022

Contact the Library:

Social Media:

Visit the Library: