Skip to Main Content
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is now staffed Mon., Wed. and Fri. from 8-4, but librarians are available to assist patrons ONLINE during normal business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees from this site.

Library Quarterly Report FY22 Q1: July-Sept 2021


Database Usage
Adapting to COVID-19

Subscription database use leveled out from record highs in FY21Q1 and FY21Q2, and dropped back to average rates last quarter. They dipped slightly below average this quarter, although it is a wonder they were not much lower considering the problems the VDOT network experienced with routing network traffic to the approved IP addresses for a 7-8 week period this quarter. Leading all resources was ASTM Compass (which released a new 2.0 interface this quarter), followed by ASCE Library, Skillsoft Books and finally Knovel.

 



The VDOT Research Library continues to expand access to key resources through desktop access to subscriptions. VDOT employees have access to 16 database subscriptions (15 of those are "full text") and because we serve the entire VDOT community, these resources see steady usage. The tables here show the number of downloads per month this quarter (averaging 1,065/month), which is in line with the trend over the past year (right), averaging just over 1,000 downloads/month. 

   

Subscription database usage FY22 Q1.

 

 

Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY22 Q1
July  August  September  Total 
ASTM Compass  332  487  316  1,135 
ASCE Library  264  156  231  651 
Skillsoft Books  71  92  153  316 
Knovel  109  90  81  280 
EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus  238  253 
TRR  124  27  99  250 
Taylor & Francis Journals  82  24  23  129 
ICE Virtual Library  26  32  58 
Non-Subscription Downloads (Library Catalog)  26  19  54 
EBSCO Business Book Summaries  24  27 
ScienceDirect  14 
 EBSCO eBooks*  17  30 
Monthly Totals  1,320  948  929  3,197 

The EBSCO eBooks category combines three EBSCO eBook collections: Harvard Business Review Press, BussinessCore and EngineeringCore.

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2022, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard