Skip to Main Content
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is now staffed Mon., Wed. and Fri. from 8-4, but librarians are available to assist patrons ONLINE during normal business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees from this site.

Library Quarterly Report FY21 Q3: January-March 2021


Database Usage

Use of library subscription databases dropped back closer to "normal" levels this quarter. It was just above average at 3,228 full-text document downloads, though that was down substantially from last quarter's record-breaker of 4,309 and Q1's second-highest ever number of downloads at 4,151. Our 5-year average is around 3,100 downloads a quarter. This quarter we had strong showings as usual by ASTM Compass, followed by library catalog click-throughs (where patrons click on a URL in a bibliographic record in the library's catalog), followed by Knovel, Transportation Research Record and ASCE Library. It is not clear why the past two quarters (both during the pandemic) were record highs, or why this quarter the numbers descended back to normal levels.

 

 

 

The Library continues expanding access to resources through "self-service" online databases. We provide 16 subscription databases to VDOT employees (14 are "full text" resources). Because we serve VDOT's engineering and business needs, we tend to see steady usage month to month. Tables here show the number of downloads per month (below) from each database, and the trend over the past year (right), which saw an unexpected increase last October, followed by a decrease in November-February, leveling out in March.

        

Subscription database usage FY21 Q3: January-March 2021

 

 

 

Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY21 Q3
  January  February  March  Total 
ASTM Compass  316  397  520  1,233 
Non-Subscription Downloads (Library Catalog)  296  249  275  820 
Knovel  77  94  131  302 
Transportation Research Record  82  84  129  295 
ASCE Library  57  67  75  199 
Skillsoft Books  152  32  12  196 
*Other (miscellaneous journals 19  59  38  116 
EBSCO eBooks  23  29 
ICE Virtual Library  13  21 
ScienceDirect  0  11  4  15 
EBSCO Business Book Summaries    2 
Monthly Totals  1,035  997  1,196  3,228 

Note: Miscellaneous resources includes International Journal of Pavement Engineering, Corrosion and Road Materials and Pavement Design.

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2022, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard