Skip to Main Content
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is closed, but staff are available ONLINE during business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees.

Library Quarterly Report FY20 Q4: April-June 2020


Database Usage

Adapting to COVID-19

Employees in all districts and divisions have had "self-service" access to library subscription databases for years. Our typical metric for usage is full-text article downloads, which stayed strong this quarter despite workforce disruptions caused by COVID-19. Despite VDOT's decision to have as many knowledge workers as possible become telework full-time, use of subscription databases was about average this quarter compared to the past five years. Leading resources were ASTM Compass followed by EOS Library catalog clickthroughs and finally Knovel. We continue to see solid use of our newest subscription the ICE Virtual Library, which we have now had for one year.

 

 

The VDOT Research Library continues to expand access to key resources through desktop access to subscription databases. VDOT employees have access to 16 database subscriptions (14 of those are "full text") and because we serve the entire VDOT community, these resources see steady usage. The tables here show the number of downloads per month this quarter (averaging 1,080/month this quarter), and the trend over the past year (right), averaging 1,048 downloads/month. 

   

Subscription database usage FY20 Q4: April-June 2020.
Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY20 Q4
April  May  June  Total 
ASTM Compass  348  431  377  1,156 
Non-Subscription Downloads (EOS Clickthroughs)  210  193  158  561 
Knovel  106  122  145  373 
Skillsoft Books  91  154  101  346 
ASCE Library  178  71  85  334 
TRR  74  46  77  197 
Taylor & Francis Journals  67  43  30  140 
ICE Virtual Library  36  13  14  63 
EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus  28  18  48 
 EBSCO Business Book Summaries 
EBSCO eBooks 
ScienceDirect 
Harvard Business Review eBooks  n/a 
Monthly Totals  1,118  1,111  1,010  3,239 

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2021, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard