Skip to main content
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is closed, but staff are available ONLINE during business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees.

Library Quarterly Report FY20 Q3: January-March 2020


Database Usage

Use of library subscription databases remained healthy despite VDOT's sudden shift to telework as a safety precaution in the face of the unexpected COVID-19 pandemic. Despite the incredible disruption this event caused, database use maintained higher than normal for the quarter, though it dipped a slight amount at the end of the quarter. Our 5-year average is around 3,100 downloads a quarter and this quarter we saw a total of 3,329, with strong showings by ASTM Compass, followed by library catalog clickthroughs (where patrons click on a URL in a bibliographic record in the library's catalog), followed by Knovel, and Skillsoft Books. It will be interesting to see if next quarter's statistics show any changes in activity based on adjustments to COVID-19.

 

 

 

The Library continues expanding access to resources through "self-service" online databases. We provide 16 subscription databases to VDOT employees (14 are "full text" resources). Because we serve VDOT's engineering and business needs, we tend to see steady usage month to month. Tables here show the number of downloads per month (below) from each database, and the trend over the past year (right), which saw an unexpected increase last October, followed by a marked decrease in October.

        

Subscription database usage FY20 Q3: January-March 2020

Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY20 Q3
  January  February  March  Total 
ASTM Compass  395  449  448  1,293 
Non-Subscription Downloads (Library Catalog)  166  154  155  475 
Knovel  181  136  109  426 
Skillsoft Books  90  124  120  334 
Transportation Research Record  95  82  60  237 
ASCE Library  66  78  92  236 
*Other (miscellaneous journals 32  50  26  108 
ICE Virtual Library  20  18  37  75 
EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus  46  13  65 
EBSCO eBooks  25  19  51 
ScienceDirect  5  9  9  23 
EBSCO Business Book Summaries    0  0  7 
Monthly Totals  1,128  1,113  1,088  3,329 

Note: Miscellaneous resources includes International Journal of Pavement Engineering, Corrosion and Road Materials and Pavement Design.

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2021, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard