Skip to main content
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is closed, but staff are available ONLINE during business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees.

Library Quarterly Report FY19 Q2: October-December 2018


Database Usage

Use of library subscription databases was above average again this quarter, with use of ASTM Compass at near record highs, as well as strong showings for Skillsoft Books and KnovelThe library is looking into new databases and may initiate a trial next quarter to a journals database provided by the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) in the UK.  For reasons we cannot fully explain (other than to indicate the value of the cataloging work done by Gil Kenner, head of library technical services, and the size and utility of the Library Catalog), once again this quarter we note high levels of "clickthrough" downloads from the library's catalog. We suspect the change is being driven in part on increased user clicks on eBook content being added to the library catalog.

 

Subscription Downloads
The VDOT Research Library continues to expand access to key resources by facilitating patron self-service access to online subscription databases. With fourteen subscription databases now active (10 of which are "full text") and due to the fact that the library serves the entire VDOT community, overall usage remains  high. The tables (below) show the number of downloads per month from each database, as well as the trend over the past year (right), which has been remained steady for the past 9 months.
Subscription database usage FY19 Q2
 
 
 
Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY19 Q2
  October  November  December  Total 
ASTM Compass  310  329  274  913 
 Books24x7  192  156  140  488 
Non-subscription downloads (EOS Clickthroughs)   160  165  148  473 
Knovel  177  157  89  423 
ASCE  86  83  57  226 
EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus  93  95 
TRR  19  37  37  93 
EBSCO eBooks  35  44  10  89 
Other (miscellaneous journals)  15  31 
ScienceDirect  11  22 
  EBSCO Business Book Summaries  18  21 
Monthly Totals  1,004  1,005  865  2,874 

Note: Miscellaneous resources includes International Journal of Pavement Engineering, Corrosion and Road Materials and Pavement Design.

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2021, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard