Skip to main content
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is closed, but staff are available ONLINE during business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees.

Library Quarterly Report FY17 Q3: January-March 2018


Database Usage

Overall database use as measured by document downloads was slightly above average this quarter. Engineering resources Knovel and ASTM Compass continue to trade off top billing with Knovel coming out on top this quarter. Other science and engineering resources ASCE Library and the library's standalone subscription to Transportation Research Record (TRR) followed closely behind.  The library plans to increase usage of all databases by continuing to develop LibGuides to promote the benefits of those resources and educate users on their functionality. We we continue to cross promote those guides on Twitter and LinkedIn and will feature them in Connections E-newsletter posts and may consider creating instructional videos for them (something we have done in the past), though we need a place to store those videos. 

 

Subscription Downloads
The  VDOT Research Library continues to expand access to key resources through online subscription databases. With thirteen subscription databases now active and serving the VDOT community, the library has seen a steady amount of database usage for many years. The following tables show the number of downloads per month (below) from each database, as well as the trend of database use over the past year (right).
Database usage: April 2016-March 017
 
 
Subscription Downloads by VDOT
  January  February  March  Total 
 Knovel  282  266   258  806 
Non-Subscription Downloads (EOS Clickthroughs)  206  173  221  600 
ASTM Compass  140  161  200  501 
TRR  140  71  58  269 
ASCE  65   111  69  245 
EBSCO Business Source Complete  98  57  11  166 
Books24x7  40  39  53  132 
EBSCO Business Book Summaries  63  14  25  102 
EBSCO eBooks  15  27  59  101 
Other (miscellaneous journals)  10  23  35  68 
ScienceDirect   11  14 
Monthly Totals  1,060  953  991    3,004 

 

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2021, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard