Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Virtual Library Card: Remote Access to Online Subscriptions

Learn how to access full-text databases remotely and "check out" or "renew" books from any conntected computer using your Virtual Library Card.

How Remote Access to Online Subscriptions Works

You don't have to visit the library to use full-text online subscriptions! 
You can access subscriptions at any time of day, any day of the week from any connected device as long as you are on the VDOT network (including network access via VPN). Just select a subscription and you should be automatically recognized for unlimited download and use. 

Off the VDOT network?
You can now access subscriptions from your home PC. In fact, if you have any Internet-connected device and a Virtual Library Card you should be able to access library resources. To illustrate, we've laid out two scenarios below using the ASCE Library database as an example of how access works for most subscription databases.

Scenario 1: You Are "At Work" Or Working "Remotely" (Using Your VDOT Computer On the VDOT Network)

Step 1: From the Library Catalog or from the Library Web site A-Z list, click on the link to the subscription ASCE Library (shown below):

 

Step 2: You are on the VDOT network so you will be automatically granted database access. You can tell you are in VDOT's subscription when you see the VDOT logo:

Scenario 2: You Are Using a Personal Computer (Not a VDOT Device, Not On the VDOT Network) & Your Virtual Library Card

Step 1: From the Library Catalog or from the Library Web site A-Z list, click on the link to the subscription ASCE Library (shown below):

 

Step 2: Since you are NOT on the VDOT network, you will not be automatically recognized, but you will be prompted to enter your Virtual Library Card Credentials:


Step 3: Your credentials should be accepted, taking you into the subscription, which will look and work the same as it does when you are on the VDOT network:

Note: Each time you use your Library Card you will be automatically recognized by any other library database you visit for the next 8 hours, without having to enter your Library Card credentials again.

Other Things To Know:

Two of the library's subscription databases (ASTM Compass and Knovel) require you to register for a free vendor account to gain access, regardless of how you access those resources. In both cases employees must use their VDOT e-mail address as their user name and create a separate password that you can manage separately.

A third resource, Skillsoft Books, now authenticates using Single Sign On (SSO).  SSO recognizes your VDOT network credentials even when you are not on the VDOT network or are using a device that was not issued by VDOT (like a personal computer, tablet or smartphone). Questions? Contact: Ken.Winter@vdot.virginia.gov

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2022, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard