Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is closed, but staff are available ONLINE during business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees.

Virtual Library Card: Overview

Learn how to access full-text databases remotely and "check out" or "renew" books from any conntected computer using your Virtual Library Card.

Your Card Is Your Key

The VDOT Virtual Library Card is your key for accessing full-text online databases remotely from any Internet-connected computer, laptop, tablet or smartphone (Including your personal devices off the VDOT network!) as well physical collections through the Library Catalog. For a complete overview of the Online catalog see the Library Catalog Quick Start Guide.

Get Your Library Card

Don't have a library card? Follow these instructions to request a Library Card today! It's fast and free for any current VDOT employee.

What Can You Do With a Library Card?

A Library Card gives you access to all library collections and subscriptions without ever having to visit the library in person.
 

Online Subscriptions: You now have access to 16 subscription databases providing access to more than 50 million full-text online: articles, papers, reports, standards, eBooks, audio books, book summaries and instructional videos. The library facilitates unlimited remote-access to subscriptions through special links on the Library Catalog and the Library Web Site These electronic collections are accessible to VDOT employees 24/7/365 from any connected device.
 

Physical Collections:  VDOT has one of the largest print collections of its type in the country, with more than 60,000 items in print and other "physical" formats. We have extensive P.E. Exam study collections, core publications from: AASHTO, ASCE, ITE and TRB, and comprehensive collections of VDOT manuals and guides. Borrow these and other items from our shelves 24/7/365 using any connected device. 

Use your Library Card to log in to the Library Catalog remotely when you want to:

  • "Check out" items (We will ship books directly to you!)
  • "Renew" items in order to use them longer (If needed.)
  • Place "Holds" on items others are using (To be next in line when popular items are returned.)
  • Search library holdings (which increase weekly), view your borrowing history, build and save searches and more.

YOU DO NOT NEED TO BE ON THE VDOT NETWORK (or using VPN or Zscaler) to access the library's physical or electronic collections. This guide will show you how to do either from your home PC, your personal tablet or any smartphone.

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2021, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard