Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is closed, but staff are available ONLINE during business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees.

Skillsoft Books: Quick Start Guide: Comparison

The purpose of this guide is to help VDOT employees find and use Skillsoft Books (formerly called Books24x7), a subscription database providing access to tens of thousands of E-books and videos.

Old Interface


Legacy version of Books24x7

  • Required VDOT network login and a second Skillsoft login.
  • More crowded interface with less focus on community.
  • Ability to search for and "browse" holdings.
  • Personalization features (notes, bookmarks, etc.) but little in the way of recommendations or community tools.
  • Large quantities of underutilized content, mostly dated editions of books.

New Interface


  • One-Click Access: No login is needed!
  • Utilizes a cleaner and more visually appealing design
  • Same great search tools and the ability to "browse" content
  • NEW! "Recently Viewed" section (based on what you've recently explored)
  • NEW! "Recommended for You" section (based on viewing history)
  • NEW! Book summaries and audio book content

Content Changes

Despite the new look, 95% of the books and videos you've accessed in the past are still there. A few items have been retired, and some new content has been added. Here's an overview of content changes. 

New Content:

  • Book Summaries: Up to 1,200 summaries (think Cliff's Notes) for popular business titles were added in 2017.
  • Audio Books: Up to 1,000 audio books (in the BusinessPro category) were added in 2017

Legacy Content:

  • The ExecBlueprint collection (rarely used) will be retired.
  • Legacy collections Well-Being Essentials and GovEssentials have also been retired due to lack of use, however, titles with the highest usage from these collections have been moved to the BusinessPro collection. 
     
Archiving Underutilized Titles: An analysis by vendor Skillsoft revealed that thousands titles were rarely used. Question: How often do today's users look up books on Microsoft Excel 2007?  Answer: Not often! To improve the user experience, such titles have been "archived." While the archive process will remove titles form the active search and title lists that users see day in and day out, these titles will continue to be accessible on demand. Simply enter a book's ISBN or title to find and start using it. For questions about title availability, please contact the VDOT Research Library

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2021, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard