Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is closed, but staff are available ONLINE during business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees.

Guide to Transportation Planning Data Sources

This is a guide to an array of transportation planning data sources of interest to the VTRC Transportation Planning Research Advisory Committee (TPRAC).

Bluetooth/WiFi Travel Times

Bluetooth and WiFi Travel time data sources are vendor specific and may require users to register and maintain individual usernames and passwords. 

Data of interest to TPRAC: Travel time and speed data on corridors that have been instrumented 

Some examples of this type of data source include:

 "BlueTOAD" by TrafficCast  

BlueToad Requires registration: *register here*

and

Acyclica's Go

Acyclica Go requires registration: *register here*

 

VDOT Traffic Counts (Public)

VDOT Traffic Counts

Data of interest to TPRAC: Published AADT, truck/bus/motorcycle %

VDOT TMS (Network Only)

VDOT TMS logo

VDOT TMS

***Browser Issues: Site Works Best in Internet Explorer***

Data of interest to TPRAC: AADT, Link traffic volumes, truck %, binned classification

 

VaTraffic App

VaTraffic

VaTraffic is a web-based application that provides VDOT operations staff with the foundation they need to collect, monitor, update, and publish roadway information more efficiently. 
The VaTraffic application collects and distributes critical operational data in real-time. VDOT staff and contractors enter and maintain data and information about traffic incidents, work zones, weather events like fog and high wind advisories, security events, and major public events such as NASCAR races. More importantly, VaTraffic is the coordinating point for major emergencies including snow storms, flood events and hurricanes.
Virginia motorists benefit from access to timely traffic and travel information, and VDOT benefits from consistent, accurate, and real-time data required to meet its business needs and motorist’s expectations.

Data of interest to TPRAC: Statewide historic incident, work zone and weather data (need approval and training)

***Requires Username and Password***

VDOT 2015 Traffic Data Daily Vehicle Miles Traveled (Public)

Daily Vehicle Miles Traveled by Federal Vehicle Class, Physical Jurisdiction, Physical Jurisdiction, with Towns Combined into Counties, Physical Jurisdiction by Federal Vehicle Class All Roads, Physical Jurisdiction by Federal Vehicle Class All Roads; with Towns Combined into Counties, Maintenance Jurisdiction State Maintained Roads, Maintenance Jurisdiction All Roads and Maintenance Jurisdiction by Federal Vehicle Class All Roads in PDF and Excel Spreadsheet file formats.

VDOT 511 (Public)

VDOT 511 Logo

VDOT 511 offers real-time traffic info. Anytime you need it, anywhere you are. Learn More.

WAZE

Waze is the world's largest community-based traffic and navigation app. Join other drivers in your area who share real-time traffic and road info, saving everyone time and gas money on their daily commute.

Data of interest to TPRAC: Road-user reports

VDOT RNS (Network Only)

The RNS creates a replacement system for the aging HTRIS mainframe system. The new system will incorporate a relational database that provides universal enterprise data access, links geospatial data and business attributes to the roadway centerlines, and provides web accessibility to users currently unable to retrieve critical roadway data.

The RNS is designed to be available to all VDOT personnel, such that they can view and report on a wide variety of VDOT business data through the application. Select users have the ability to perform more complex analyses and reporting.

Data of interest to TPRAC: Crashes

To view these and other resources on the VDOT RNS Site users will need to download Microsoft Silverlight 

Microsof Silverlight logo

***This step will likely require VITA Authorization***

SHRP2 Naturalistic Driving Study

SHRP2 Naturalistic Driving Study

The SHRP2 Naturalistic Driving Study includes:

Information describing the 3,400+ drivers and vehicles that participated in the naturalistic driving study. 5,400,000+ Trip summary records that describe individual trips recorded during the study.

SHRP2 NDS status information including data collection and processing progress. 36,000+ Crash, near crash, and baseline driving events. (More coming soon)

Background information about the project and data being collected.

Discussion forums for questions about the project and available data

View Background information about the SHRP2 NDS.

View detailed data collected from driver assessments, vehicles, trip summaries, and critical driving events.

Query the database of detailed data, create cross tabulations, and assess NDS database content.

***Requires Registration***

VDOT Power BI Crash Tool (Public)

This VDOT Crash Tool has been developed in-house by the VDOT Highway Safety section for crash analysis purposes. The main source of the data is owned and maintained by DMV. 

Data of interest to TPRAC: Crash data, police reports

TREDS

Treds logo


The main goal of TREDS (Traffic Records Electronic Data System) is to provide accurate, timely and detailed highway safety information for analysis and reporting. The data from TREDS is used to support Virginia’s efforts to reduce crashes, injuries, fatalities and associated costs. Through TREDS, Virginia now has one of the most effective and innovative information technology tools in the nation to identify and address its highway safety concerns. 

This state-of-the-art, automated data system centralizes all of Virginia’s crash data and related information. A recent enhancement to the system’s mapping tool, now allows users to combine safety program areas, such as impaired driving and speed, and it also allows agencies to focus on the crash data in their jurisdiction whereas in the past, users have only been able to narrow the data down to the county level.

***Login Required***

Data of interest to TPRAC: Crash data, police reports

NHTSA: (FARS)-(NASS)-(NCSA)-(STSI)

NHTSA Logo

Dedicated to achieving the highest standards of excellence in motor vehicle and highway safety, NHTSA works daily to help prevent such crashes and their attendant costs, both human and financial.

NHTSA provides a number of data resources (featured below) of interest to TPRAC including FARS, NASS, NCSA, and STSI among others. 

FARS is a nationwide census providing NHTSA, Congress and the American public yearly data regarding fatal injuries suffered in motor vehicle traffic crashes.

Data of interest to TPRAC: Fatality data and queries

NASS logo

NASS provides NHTSA an efficient and reusable resource with which to conduct data collection representing a broad spectrum of American society. Using a core set of crash data components, NASS has proven a reliable resource for a variety of agency sponsored electronic data collection efforts over the past 10 years.

NASS is composed of two systems - the Crashworthiness Data System (CDS) and the General Estimates System (GES). These are based on cases selected from a sample of police crash reports. CDS data focus on passenger vehicle crashes, and are used to investigate injury mechanisms to identify potential improvements in vehicle design. GES data focus on the bigger overall crash picture, and are used for problem size assessments and tracking trends.

Data of interest to TPRAC: National crash statistics and estimates

The National Center for Statistics and Analysis (NCSA),  is an office of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA),and is responsible for providing a wide range of analytical and statistical support to NHTSA and the highway safety community at large.

Data of interest to TPRAC:Crash data sources

STSI

NHTSA's State Traffic Safety Information database. 

Data of interest to TPRAC: State specific crash data and resources

California DMV Autonomous Vehicle Reports

CA DMV logo

This site maintained by th California Department of Motor Vehicles houses information on adopted regulations for testing of autonomous vehicles by manufacturers, information for manufacturer testing of autonomous vehicles, autonomous vehicle accident reports, autonomous vehicle disengagement reports, previous hearings and workshops and general background on autonomous vehicles in California.

Data of interest to TPRAC: Records of all crashes and disengagements of autonomous vehicles

RITIS

RITIS logo

The Regional Integrated Transportation Information System (RITIS) is an automated data sharing, dissemination, and archiving system that includes many performance measure, dashboard, and visual analytics tools that help agencies to gain situational awareness, measure performance, and communicate information between agencies and to the public.Learn More.

Data of interest to TPRAC:Incident and work zone data; detector data

***RITIS requires users to register for & maintain a username and password***

RITIS Vehicle Probe Project Suite

The RITIS Vehicle Probe Project Suite allows agencies to support operations, planning, analysis, research, and performance measures generation using probe data mixed with other agency transportation data.

The suite consists of a collection of data visualization and retrieval tools. These web-based tools allow users to download reports, visualize data on maps or in other interactive graphics, and even download raw data for off-line analysis. Each tool has its own unique purposes. Among many other uses, the Vehicle Probe Project Suite can provide insight on:

  • Real-time Speed Data
  • Travel Time Index
  • Travel Time Reliability metrics
  • Queue Measurements
  • Statewide bottleneck ranking
  • Corridor Congestion Chart

Learn more.

 

Data of interest to TPRAC:INRIX and NPMRDS TMC speed, congestion scans, performance charts, user delay costs, buffer time index, planning time index, bottlenecks, trend maps

 

***Vehicle Probe Project Suite requires users register for and maintain a RITIS username and password***

Uber Movement (DC Area Only)

Uber Movement logo

Uber Movement provides anonymized data from over two billion trips to help urban planning around the world. 

***Requires Account Registration*** Register here.

Data of interest to TPRAC: Anonymized data from Uber trips

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2021, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard