Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is closed, but staff are available ONLINE during business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees.

VDOT OneSearch: Quick Start Guide: About

The purpose of this guide is to help VDOT employees find and use VDOT OneSearch to perform simple searches. OneSearch is a federated search tool that helps VDOT employees quickly search dozens of databases at once in real time, merging relevant results to

What is VDOT OneSearch?

Onesearch logo.

VDOT OneSearch is a special online tool that allows VDOT employees to search all of the library's core engineering, business and transportation databases (both subscription and public) simultaneously and return results from those sources in real time. It also lets you search across multiple VDOT information silos, including VDOT's Youtube Channel, Flickr Photostream and News Release Archive. Because it can be such a huge timesaver (especially if you need to search multiple databases to be reasonably thorough) we often tell patrons: If you only have time for "one search" consider using OneSearch!

A basic search is fast and easy. From the main search screen simply enter search terms, set limits, select databases and click "Search" (as shown below):

Step 1: Type in simple search terms.
Step 2: Enter limits if you want (Ex: date range, full-text only...)
Step 3: Select which database or database "Categories" you want to search. Note: By default all 25 databases are selected. The next section shows options.
Step 4: Click "Search" to start receiving results.

 

Screen capture demonstrating the appearance of OneSearch.


HINT: Covered bridges, shown in the example above, is a specific search term, but since it is a phrase (two words put together to express a single concept) OneSearch will look for resources with either word in any order. To search multiple words together as a phrase simply use quote marks around them, like this: "covered bridges"

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2020, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Social Media:

VDOT  
Facebook   
VDOT  
Twitter   
VDOT  
LinkedIn   
VDOT  
YouTube   
VDOT  
RSS Feeds   
VDOT   
511 Virginia   

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard