Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is closed, but staff are available ONLINE during business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees.

ICE Virtual Library: Quick Start Guide: About

A quick start guide to using the ICE Virtual Library subscription database, available to VDOT employees through the VDOT Research Library.

What is the ICE Virtual Library?

ICE Virtual Library logo

What is the ICE Virtual Library?
The ICE Virtual Library is a full-text online database from ICE Publishing (the publishing arm of the United Kingdom's Institution of Civil Engineers, or ICE). It provides a quick way to browse or search through 37,000 articles and conference proceedings papers from 46 peer-reviewed journals in subjects like: construction, civil engineering, geotechnical engineering, structures, environmental science, urban planning, and transportation history. 

ICE is accessible from the Library’s Web site or the Library’s Online CatalogThe direct link to ICE Virtual Library is: https://library.virginiadot.org/resources/ice​

What types of publications are in VDOT's subscription?

At this time, VDOT’s subscription only provides access to articles (and some proceedings papers) from 40 of the 46 journals ICE publishes. Precise titles, volumes and issues are shown in this Guide to ICE Journals

Right now VDOT's subscription does not include any of the 1,500 eBooks that can be found on the site. That is due in part to the fact that many of the eBooks ICE offers are already accessible through VDOT's subscription to the Knovel database. This FAQ provides some specific examples of ICE eBooks you can access in other subscriptions. 

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2020, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Social Media:

VDOT  
Facebook   
VDOT  
Twitter   
VDOT  
LinkedIn   
VDOT  
YouTube   
VDOT  
RSS Feeds   
VDOT   
511 Virginia   

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard