Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Compendex: Quick Start Guide: Full Text Options

A quick start guide for users of the Compendex database on the Engineering Village platform.

Full-Text Options

Compendex is considered a "citation" database, since it indexes and provides citations across all engineering literature, including all of VDOT's journal subscriptions with all publishers. Full-text is not always available, but the Engineering Village interface has features designed to lead you to VDOT's other subscriptions for full-text access whenever full text is available. 

TIP: Click on the Image of the "full text" button or the  Image of the "View in Knovel" button button!


In addition, Compendex increasingly has links to full-text resources that are available as "Open Access" articles or "Preprint" articles. FAQs in the next section explain these terms.

From Citation to 'Full-Text'

Screen capture showing ways to get full text from Compendex.

Clicking the "Full-text" button will help lead you to the full-text document, regardless of whether it is Open Access, a preprint or one of thousands of articles in another Library subscription database. In each case, your Compendex search results stay onscreen while a new browser window opens with your full text.

"Types" of Full-Text

1. Open Access: 4.4 million open access items are available for "free, immediate, online availability...coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment."  (Source: SPARC) To get a document click "Full text" 

2. Preprint articles: 850,000 preprint articles (manuscripts prepared for publication that get shared prior to full peer review) are also in Compendex. For more on this topic see our Preprint FAQ. To get a document click "Full text"

3. VDOT Subscription Journals: More than 500,000 articles from engineering/technical journals held by the library are in Compendex, including:  ASCE journals, ICE journals and dozens more. To get a document click "Full text"

4. Knovel: About 2,800 eBooks available in VDOT's Knovel subscription are now accessible via Compendex. To get to one click "View in Knovel" 

Still Can't Find the Full-Text?

Don't give up if Compendex leads you to a paywall or any other dead end that does not result in full-text!

For any item you find in Compendex that does not have a "Full text" button (or the button does not connect you to the full text as you had hoped), simply copy the citation details and submit them in a request to the Library using this ILL and Document Delivery Request Form. Delivery may take 1-2 weeks, but is often much faster and we have an amazing fulfillment rate!

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2022, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard