Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is now staffed Mon., Wed. and Fri. from 8-4, but librarians are available to assist patrons ONLINE during normal business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees from this site.

ASTM Compass 2.0: Quick Start Guide: About

A quick start guide to using the ASTM Compass version 2.0 subscription database available to VDOT employees through the VDOT Research Library.

What is ASTM Compass?

ASTM Compass Logo


What is ASTM Compass 2.0?

ASTM Compass 2.0 is the new version (as of August 2021) of the full-text database from ASTM, which is accessible to all VDOT employees. VDOT’s subscription provides access to electronic versions of standards, books and articles from the American Society of Testing and Materials (ASTM). It also contains standards and key publications from the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO). ASTM Compass has many collections, including a few VDOT has either limited or no access to, through the URL: https://library.virginiadot.org/resources/astm

ASTM Compass is one of the most popular ways for VDOT employees to access ASTM standards, AASHTO standards and other content. It was formerly called “ASTM DOT Web Portal,” but was re-branded with expanded functionality and content (including AASHTO resources) in 2014.


Here’s a quick breakdown of VDOT’s collections, all of which are electronic:

ASTM: 

- ASTM Standards: 12,500+ current or recent standards. 

- ASTM Digital Library: Every book (1,500+), paper (42,800+) or articles (17,000+) published by ASTM.

AASHTO :

- AASHTO Standards: 575 current or recent AASHTO Standards. 

- ASTM E-Books: 18 key books from AASHTO.

Training:

- Six online course modules related to concrete and aggregate testing. 

Total Content: 
The total count of current and historical standards, journal articles and Special Technical Publicataions (STPs) is 136,610 resources. For a list of AASHTO reference materials available online through ASTM Compass see the link below:

How Can I Access ASTM Compass?
ASTM Compass is accessible from the Library’s Web site and the Library’s Online Catalog
The direct link to ASTM Compass is: https://vdot.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://compass.astm.org 

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2021, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard