Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is closed, but staff are available ONLINE during business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees.

Project Management-topnav: Find Articles & Papers

This subject guide helps VDOT employees get started finding the latest research an innovations related to Project Management in transportation.

Selected Journals

Journal of Management In Engineering
Journal of Construction Engineering and Management
Journal of Modern Project Management
PM World Journal
Transportation Research Record
Project Management Journal
Public Roads
Public Works Management & Policy
Transportation Research Part A
International Journal of Construction Management

Top Databases for Articles & Papers

There is no single "best" place to search for information on Project Management. These are the top three databases (in priority order) that we recommend for starting your search. For a full list of resources leading to articles and papers go to this A-Z list of resources.


TRID
Combines records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than 1.25 million records of transportation research worldwide.
(Save time by running this preformatted search on Project Management
)

​COMPENDEX
One of the most authoritative databases of abstracted and indexed literature in engineering and the applied sciences with more than 20 million citations to peer-reviewed literature (journals, conferences and trade publications) from 1970-present. Updated weekly. Note: Covers many engineering disciplines neither common to VDOT or transportation in general. 
(Save time by running this preformatted search on Project Management
)

​ScienceDirect
Search the world's leading source for peer-reviewed scientific and technical journals. VDOT employees may access 16 million full-text articles from over 4,100 journals and chapters from more than 39,000 e-books. Employees must register with their VDOT email address.
(Save time by running this preformatted search on Project Management
)

Can't find the full text?

Sometimes you find the perfect citation but there's no link to full-text online, or the link takes you to a paywall. VDOT employees get free and unlimited Interlibrary Loans and Document Deliveries. Simply fill out this Online Request Form. 

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2021, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard