Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
           COVID-19 ALERT: The library is closed, but staff are available ONLINE during business hours and full-text databases are accessible 24/7 to VDOT employees.

Literature Searches, Surveys and Reviews: Where to Search

This guide walks transportation professionals and students through the basics of conducting transportation literature searches, surveys and reviews.

Where to Search

All Subjects

Alcohol Use

Behavior

Bicycles

Biophysics

Bridges

Buses

Business

Civil Engineering

Climate Change

Commuting

Construction

Crashes

Directories

Distraction

Drivers

Economic and Social factors  

Economics

  • IATA
  • Life-Cycle Benefit–Cost Analysis Model
  • Measurement of Government Transportation Financial Statistics 
  • TRID

Education and Training

  • ERIC
  • LTAP Clearinghouse

Engineering

Environment

Fatalities

Finance

Freight Transportation

  • ABI–Inform
  • AAR
  • BTS Commodity Flow Survey
  • Congestion Data for Your City
  • Data Sources Related to Freight
  • FMCSA–Data, Analysis and Statistics
  • FRA E-library
  • FRA Office of Safety Analysis
  • Freight Analysis Framework
  • LexisNexis
  • NTL Repository and Open Science Portal (ROSAP)
  • TRID

Fuel Consumption

  • Annual Energy Review
  • CAFE Fuel Economy
  • Congestion Data for Your City
  • Transportation Energy Data Book 
  • TRID

Groups

  • AASHTO Committees
  • FHWA Experts Directory
  • TRB Directory 

Hazardous Materials

  • CFS FMCSA–Data, Analysis, and Statistics
  • Motor Carrier Management Information System
  • TRID
  • U.S. DOT Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration

Highway Design

Highway Engineering

Highway Safety

Highway Travel

Highways

Human Factors

Information Technology

  • IEEE Xplore
  • INSPEC

Injuries

Intelligent Transportation Systems

Law Enforcement

  • SafetyLit
  • Legislation Council of State Governments Knowledge Center
  • LexisNexis
  • TRID

Logistics

  • ProQuest Newsstand
  • LexisNexis

Maintenance

Materials

Motor Carriers

  • FMCSA–Data, Analysis, and Statistics
  • Motor Carrier Management Information System News
  • LexisNexis
  • ProQuest Newsstand

Pavements

Pedestrians

Persons and Personal Characteristics

Planning

Policy

Project Management

Public Policy

Public Transit

Road Construction

Safety

School Safety

Specialists

  • AASHTO Committees
  • FHWA Experts Directory
  • TRB Directory

State Government

  • Council of State Governments Knowledge Center

Taxation

  • Highway Statistics

Technology

Trade

  • CFS
  • Data Sources Related to Freight
  • Freight Analysis Framework
  • Monthly Energy Review
  • ProQuest Newsstand
  • LexisNexis

Traffic Congestion

  • Congestion Data for Your City
  • Urban Mobility Information  

Traffic Engineering

Transportation Operations

Tunnels

Vehicles

  • CAFE Fuel Economy 

Work Zone Safety

_____________________________
Excerpted from Evans, Minotti, Post. & Sweet, "Literature Resources: Where to Search." in 
Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects: How to Search, Where to Search, and How to Put It All Together: Current Practices 

_____________________________
Excerpted from Evans, Minotti, Post. & Sweet, "Literature Resources: Where to Search." in 
Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects: How to Search, Where to Search, and How to Put It All Together: Current Practices 

_____________________________
Excerpted from Evans, Minotti, Post. & Sweet, "Literature Resources: Where to Search." in 
Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects: How to Search, Where to Search, and How to Put It All Together: Current Practices.  

NOTE: VDOT employees may want to start with this helpful Guide to Transportation Planning Data Sources

_____________________________
Excerpted from Evans, Minotti, Post. & Sweet, "Literature Resources: Where to Search." in 
Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects: How to Search, Where to Search, and How to Put It All Together: Current Practices 

_____________________________
Excerpted from Evans, Minotti, Post. & Sweet, "Literature Resources: Where to Search." in 
Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects: How to Search, Where to Search, and How to Put It All Together: Current Practices 

_____________________________
Excerpted from Evans, Minotti, Post. & Sweet, "Literature Resources: Where to Search." in 
Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects: How to Search, Where to Search, and How to Put It All Together: Current Practices 

Seminal works are key works in a field: articles, books, or other texts that are introduce new knowledge in a particular field. You'll see them cited over and over again as you go about your literature review. Northcentral University has compiled a guide to finding seminal works, together with a workshop on finding seminal research that can be viewed online.

An additional resource is Web of Science, an interdisciplinary database that allow for sorting of results by the number of citations of a particular article.


Web of Knowledge/Web of Science


Web of Science offers multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.

In addition to sorting by times cited, this database offers tools for analyzing search results and creating citation reports.

NOTE: Only accessible to UVA faculty/students and VTRC Research Scientists. For assistance with a Web of Science search contact the VDOT Research Library.

Contact the Library:

530 Edgemont Road, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2021, VDOT. All rights reserved.

Visit the Library:

Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard