Policies: Library Policies

Have resources you'd like to donate to the us? We're definitely interested! As long as your gifts fall within the scope of our Collections Development Policy. All gifts are reviewed for selection but not all gifts are retained, especially if they duplicate existing collections. This policy is short but outlines key details you want to know before you ship us your gifts!

Working together libraries can do amazing things. This policy describes our program for borrowing materials from other libraries worldwide (on behalf of VDOT patrons) and our willingness to loan items to requesting libraries. Interlibrary Loans is beneficial to library patrons because it allows us to quickly find and borrow items that are rare, expensive, esoteric or otherwise impossible for us to ever own. Check out the policy to learn more.

Sometimes a "must have" resource from years gone by no longer contributes to the body of knowledge VDOT employees need access to today. Other times, multiple copies were once warranted but now only a single copy is needed. Or maybe the item is legitimate for collection, but t the scope VDOT's research and information needs has shifted. To guide our decisions for what to retain we've drafted this policy.

We want you to know we're thinking about your privacy. This policy outlines patron privacy rights and responsibilities within the context of the privacy and computer use policies of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The policy outlines patron rights based in part on five "Fair Information Practice Principles" established by the American Library Association (ALA). The principles outline the rights of: Notice, Choice, Access, Security and Enforcement.

This policy organizes and directs the library’s process of acquiring materials, integrating items into collections, managing collection growth, maintaining collections, and removing items based on logical criteria. The three general purposes of this document are to:

1. Describe the general emphasis on collecting activity.
2. Identify user needs and programs supported by the library’s collections.
3. Provide short- and long-range plans for the future of the library’s collections.

Intellectual Freedom is an individual’s right to seek and receive information from all points of view without restriction. It provides free access to all expressions of ideas through which any and all sides of a question, cause or movement may be explored. We adhere to the principles set forth in the American Library Association’s (ALA) Library Bill of Rights.

This document provides an overview of activities involved in creating good digital library collections, identifying resources and sound practices for the creation and management of those collections, and setting forth criteria for selection of resources within the existing VDOT policy and with respect to current intellectual property laws and competing work priorities, staffing and similar constraints. Many highly respected libraries, associations and other organizations have compiled technical standards and best practices for the building of digital collections. This document focuses on the unique needs and circumstances found at VDOT and the VDOT Research Library.